Rep. Huffman Appointed Chair of Committee on Caucus Procedures

Huffman Takes on Additional Leadership Roles for the 118th Congress

February 08, 2023

Washington, D.C. – Today, Congressman Jared Huffman (D-San Rafael) was appointed by House Democratic Caucus Chairman Pete Aguilar as Chair of the House Committee on Caucus Procedures. The Committee is responsible for evaluating and recommending changes to Caucus rules to best reflect and enhance the diversity and effectiveness of House Democrats. 

“I’m honored to serve as Chair of the Committee on Caucus Procedures. It’s a historic time in the House of Representatives, with a tremendously diverse Democratic Caucus and the momentum of two years of groundbreaking work upon which to build. Through this committee's efforts, we can ensure Democrats remain unified as we work for the people,” said Chair Huffman. “With an extraordinary team of regional leads by my side, we are ready to make sure the Democratic Caucus rules stay current and fully reflect the diversity of our leaders — and more importantly the people we represent.” 

“Jared is a proven consensus builder and I’m confident that his leadership will help us continue building a more inclusive Caucus,” Chairman Aguilar said. “I am proud to name members who embody the vision, compassion and diversity of House Democrats. Together, we can ensure that the rules governing our Caucus reflect our values.”

Rep. Huffman was also recently appointed to serve on the Regional Leadership Council under former Majority Leader Steny Hoyer. The Council is charged with spearheading the Democratic Caucus coordination with the Biden administration on the implementation of Congress’ major legislative achievements under Democratic leadership – including the Inflation Reduction Act, Bipartisan Infrastructure Law, and CHIPS and Science Act. In addition to these roles, Rep. Huffman is serving on the Democratic Steering and Policy Committee as well as on House leadership’s Senior Whip Team.

The members serving with Rep. Huffman on the House Democratic Caucus Committee on Caucus Procedures are Reps. Rep. Kathy Castor (FL-14), Rep. Emanuel Cleaver (MO-05), Rep. Madeleine Dean (PA-04), Rep. Steven Horsford (NV-04), Rep. Annie Kuster (NH-02), Rep. Teresa Leger Fernandez (NM-03), Rep. Mike Levin (CA-49), Rep. Doris Matsui (CA-07), Rep. Rob Menendez (NJ-08), Rep. Terri Sewell (AL-07), Rep. Haley Stevens (MI-11) and Rep. Ritchie Torres (NY-15).