Huffman, Fitzpatrick, Beyer, 56 Lawmakers Introduce Still-In Paris Resolution

February 08, 2019

Washington, D.C.- Today, Representatives Jared Huffman (D-CA), Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA), Don Beyer (D-VA) and 56 other representatives introduced the “Still-In Resolution,” a bipartisan House Concurrent Resolution to reaffirm that Congress remains committed to the Paris Agreement to combat climate change.

In response to President Trump’s decision to withdraw the United States from the Paris Agreement, this House Concurrent Resolution has a simple, but strong, message: Congress is Still In.

“Climate change is not a partisan issue, but rather a moral, economic, and environmental imperative,” said Rep. Huffman. “I’m glad my colleagues on both sides of aisle are joining me on this bipartisan resolution to set the record straight and support the Paris Agreement on climate action. The Still-In Resolution is an important message that the world desperately needs to hear. It’s by no means the only thing this Congress needs to do on the climate crisis, but it’s an important starting point. We are saying with a loud, bipartisan voice that Congress will not allow America to turn its back on our obligations to future generations and the rest of the world.”

“Climate change must be addressed proactively with leaders from both sides of the aisle working to protect our planet,” said Rep. Fitzpatrick. “Every nation will be affected by climate change which is why nearly every country agreed to work to reduce carbon emissions. I continue to urge the Administration not to leave the Paris Climate Accord – but in the meantime, Congress should send a message to the world: the people of the United States remain committed to pursuing bipartisan solutions to address climate change and protect our environment.”

Climate change threatens the state of both our nation and the world and requires an international solution. In response to this global challenge, the United States should play an indispensable role in providing the global leadership and clarity needed by making a firm promise to stay in the historic Paris Agreement.

Rep. Huffman is the Chair of the Water, Oceans, and Wildlife Subcommittee on the House Committee on Natural Resources. Just this week, Huffman was also named to the Select Committee on the Climate Crisis.

In addition to Reps. Fitzpatrick and Beyer, the Resolution is cosponsored by Representatives Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), Suzanne Bonamici (D-OR), Salud Carbajal (D-CA), Matt Cartwright (D-PA), Ed Case (D-HI), Sean Casten (D-IL), Judy Chu (D-CA), Gilbert Ray Cisneros (D-CA), Emanuel Cleaver (D-MO), Gerald Connolly (D-VA), Joe Courtney (D-CT), Diana DeGette (D-CO), Suzan DelBene (D-WA), Debbie Dingell (D-MI), Alcee Hastings (D-FL), Katie Hill (D-CA), Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX), Hank Johnson (D-GA), William Keating (D-MA), Ro Khanna (D-CA), Derek Kilmer (D-WA), Barbara Lee (D-CA), Andy Levin (D-MI), Mike Levin (D-CA), Alan Lowenthal (D-CA), Tom Malinowski (D-NJ), Carolyn Maloney (D-NY), Doris Matsui (D-CA), Grace Meng (D-NY), Gwen Moore (D-WI), Grace Napolitano (D-CA), James McGovern (D-MA), Jerry McNerney (D-CA), Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC), Chellie Pingree (D-ME), Scott Peters (D-CA), Katie Porter (D-CA), David Price (D-NC), Mike Quigley (D-IL), Harley Rouda (D-CA), Kathleen Rice (D-NY), Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan (I-MP),  Jan Schakowsky (D-IL), Adam Schiff (D-CA), Kurt Schrader (D-OR), Jose Serrano (D-NY), Paul Tonko (D-NY), Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL), Maxine Waters (D-CA), Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ), Peter Welch (D-VT), Albio Sires (D-NJ), Josh Harder (D-CA), Bill Foster (D-IL), David Cicilline (D-RI), and Susan Wild (D-PA).