Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

September 18, 2023

The Honorable Jennifer Granholm Secretary U.S. Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, D.C. 20585

Dear Secretary Granholm,

As we celebrate the one-year anniversary of the passage of the Inflation Reduction Act (IRA), we write to urge the Department of Energy (DOE) to expedite the deployment of the IRA's historic rebate programs for investing in affordable, energy-efficient home upgrades. Because of delays in finalizing program guidance and distributing administrative funds, we are informed that states may be unable to offer rebates until the Fall of 2024 or later, which would be more than two years after IRA enactment.

We urge DOE to prioritize getting this critical program on a faster, more effective track by working with states, territories, and tribes to ensure there are no further delays or obstacles going forward. Towards that end, DOE should immediately disburse early administrative funds so that program administrators can hire staff, develop plans, and stand up their rebate programs. It is also critically important for DOE to finalize clear, appropriate guidance so that states, territories and tribes can inform residents about the timing and amount of rebates for which they will be eligible.

The Home Energy Rebate Program is one of the most important consumer-facing benefits of the IRA and, unlike tax credits, it prioritizes low- and middle-income households that may not be able to utilize nonrefundable tax credits. The rebates will increase home energy efficiency, reduce our dependence on fossil fuels, and lower home energy costs. The transformative potential of this program is why so many of us – including members of Congress, administration officials, NGO's and others – have been urging Americans to consider making major energy efficiency and electrification upgrades to their homes, including buying appliances such as heat pumps. States are eager to build their programs, contractors and manufacturers want to make plans, and residents are anxious to start home improvements – indeed, some of our enthusiastic constituents have already done so based on assurances that IRA rebates would be available.

However, more than a year after the enactment of the IRA, no rebates have been issued and our constituents are still wondering if and when such investments will qualify for rebates. We must resolve that uncertainty and swiftly deliver the transformative energy savings and decarbonization benefits of these programs.

Until July 27, 2023, DOE had still not published guidance for states and territories to stand up their programs. The guidance that DOE finally released includes errors and inconsistencies that will require DOE to issue updated guidance. Additionally, DOE's failure to disburse early administrative funds has prevented states and territories from developing their programs.

These delays are all the more concerning considering that rebates are targeted at low and middle-income families who are less likely to benefit from nonrefundable tax credits. If equity is to remain a priority in implementing the IRA, we must recognize that it is unfair to require low- and moderate-income households to wait as much as two years to access rebates while higher-income households can benefit from tax credits for upgrades initiated since January 1st of this year.

The only way to correct this inequity and mitigate the potential loss of two years of rebates is to allow program administrators to make rebates available retroactive to the date of IRA enactment, as long as the upgrades meet program requirements. The IRA clearly authorizes retroactive rebates, stating that Home Efficiency Rebates "shall" be provided for "retrofits begun on or after the date of enactment" and saying nothing to the contrary regarding the Home Electrification and Appliance Rebate (41 U.S.C. 18795).

Therefore, we urge DOE to correct its program guidance to clarify that program administrators have the option to offer retroactive home efficiency and electrification rebates provided the upgrades were initiated on or after the date of enactment and meet the qualifications. Finalizing guidance with this correction and disbursing early administrative funds will enable states, territories, and tribes to start offering consumers the details they need to make important home improvements decisions. It will also provide assurance to residents who are ready to move ahead with costly upgrades and do not want to wait another year or more to do so.

Thank you for your prompt attention to this important matter.

Sincerely,

(ared Huffman

Member of Congress

Doris Matsui

Member of Congress

Ann McLane Kuster

Kathy Castor

old Hadlen

Member of Congress

Manette Diaz Barragán

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

Jerrold Nadler

Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Jim Costa

Member of Congress

Matt Cartwright Member of Congress Chairman, Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, Science, and Related Agencies

Adam Smith

Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva

Member of Congress

Emanuel Cleaver, II

Member of Congress

Yvette D. Clarke
Member of Congress

Mary Gay Scanlon
Member of Congress

Susan Wild

Member of Congress

Chellie Pingree
Member of Congress

Jennifer L. McClellan Member of Congress Kate Ports

Katie Porter Member of Congress

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger Member of Congress

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez

Je Neguse Member of Congress

Ko Khanna

Member of Congress

Mark Takano Member of Congress

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress Mark DeSaulnier
Member of Congress

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Winds J. San

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Dina Titus

Member of Congress

Ted W. Lieu

Member of Congress

ımy **P**anetta Member of Congress

Eric Swalwell Member of Congress

welvel

Adam B. Schiff Member of Congress

Mike Quigley Member of Congress Julia Brownley

Member of Congress

Jasmine Member of Congress

David J. Trone Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress

Mike Thompson
Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

J. Luis Correa Member of Congress

Nikema Williams
Member of Congress

John P. Sarbanes Member of Congress

Jennifer Wexton Member of Congress

Sean Casten

Member of Congress

Jimmy Gomez Member of Congress

Grace F. Napolitano Member of Congress

Debbie Dingell
Member of Congress

Mike Levin

Member of Congress

Robert C. "Bobby" Sc

Member of Congress

Tony **C**árdenas

Member of Congress

André Carson

André Carson Member of Congress

Val Hoyle

Greg Stanton

Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren

Member of Congress

Jamaal Bowman, Ed.D. Member of Congress